Am I Making It Worthwhile?

The following was written by second-generation missionary to Brazil, James Allen:

Am I Making it Worthwhile?

Far away on this mission field I sometimes wonder, am I making it worthwhile?
The special things that I have missed, am I making it worthwhile?
The weddings, the birthdays, the funerals, am I making it worthwhile?

Oh, how I love and miss my brothers, my sisters, my parents and in-laws, am I making it worthwhile?
The joyous graduations and conquests, the painful losses and mishaps, am I making it worthwhile?
All those simple moments that make life worth living, am I making it worthwhile?

I don’t really know my Aunts and Uncles, am I making it worthwhile?
I have 1st, 2nd, and 3rd degree cousins that I’ve never met, am I making it worthwhile?
My nephews and nieces wonder who I am, am I making it worthwhile?

I hear my grandparents were great people, am I making it worthwhile?
Unknown American veteran heroes, am I making it worthwhile?
I would love for my children to have known them, am I making it worthwhile?

Then, in a moment, I am reminded of Christ’s sacrifice for me, am I making it worthwhile?
“I must work the works of him that sent me,” He said, am I making it worthwhile?
“while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.” am I making it worthwhile?

“Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me:” am I making it worthwhile?
“nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.” am I making it worthwhile?
“Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do.” am I making it worthwhile?

And as I look into the eyes of those whose souls have been rescued from hell, I ask myself;
Am I making it worthwhile? Am I doing all that I can?
Am I working the works while it is day? For the end is soon at hand.

Far too many others are on the path of pain,
Leaping into eternity each and every day.
Who will go and tell them of the strait and narrow Way?

I conclude then “Therefore, my beloved brethren,
be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord,
forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”

So as I stay and labor here on this mission field awhile,
I thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, for He makes it all worthwhile!

Are you making His sacrifice for you worthwhile?
Are you making your sacrifice for Him worthwhile?

James Timothy Allen
Second Generation Missionary to Brazil
Macedonia World Baptist Missions Inc.

Posted on September 16, 2011, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

