The Storm

The following is the first of two poems, given by God, inspired by a sermon, written by a wonderful lady in our church, Mrs. Susan Kent.  I asked her for permission to post them here.

THE STORM

by Susan Kent

 

I did not know the storm was coming

When I started on this road.

Everything seemed clear and calm,

And light was my load.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

When complacent I became;

When I settled into a routine life,

Not listening as God called my name.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

As I sailed on my calm sea of life

With good health and prosperity,

Free from trials and strife.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

As future plans I made,

And my life was so comfortable;

Of nothing was I afraid.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

Until the winds so violently blew.

As my ship of life began to sink

I questioned if my faith would hold true.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

But when it came, I held up my hand.

I prayed for mercy and forgiveness

And was delivered onto dry land.

 

I did not know the storm was coming

But I know Who calmed my sea.

Jesus, my Lord and Savior,

Was in the midst of the storm with me.

 

I do not know when another storm will come

Or how boisterous the wind might be,

But this I know . . . . In the midst of the storm,

Jesus will walk with me.

 

Posted on May 31, 2011, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Chad Phillips

    Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

