Happy New Year

Well, here it is, only 2.5 hours left in the first day of the New Year and I’m “wore slap out.”  Michelle and I have been working every day this week on trying to get the rest of the stuff out of our old house.  I can’t believe how much we’ve accumulated over the last 15 years (11 of those in the same house).  I know that’s “beans” to some, but still, it’s been ridiculous.  I don’t plan on moving any time soon again…everyday we’ve had off, we’ve been working.

It sounds like I’m complaining, and I guess I am a bit, BUT, I’m so glad I’m having to move the rest of our stuff so soon.  You see, for those of you who might not know, right before Thanksgiving my family moved closer to the church, although we had not sold our existing home.  Feeling confident it was what the Lord wanted, we went ahead and pursued our “new” home. (It’s actually an older home)  At this point, it was obvious that selling our other home was paramount.  We decided to go at it from all angles….we listed it on craigslist for rent/sale/lease purchase, hoping and praying to sale or lease purchase it.  We listed it around 10:30 PM on a Monday night, by noon the next day, several had called with one really interested.  By Thursday, we had a deal worked out for a lease purchase…praise the Lord!!  We realize that it was all Him…not one sign was put up in the yard or street and it was now under contract.  Now, that may not seem too incredible to you, but let me add…this family is living in Jacksonville, FL, although they used to live in the Walnut Grove area.  They have lease purchased “sight unseen” which in and of itself is wild.  BUT, that’s not really the best part.  Calling the family back one day, the wife commented, “You pastor the Victory Baptist Church in Loganville, don’t you?”  I replied, “Yes, how did you know that?”  She answered, “I ‘googled’ you”.  After small talk she proceeded to tell me that she was saved at vacation Bible school AT Victory Baptist years ago under the ministry of Mickey Oliver!  Now that’s pretty amazing.

Anyway, not that you necessarily wanted to know all that, I’m just saying…we’re tired, but very thankful, this evening.  2009 was somewhat an odd year.  In some ways, it was a very difficult year with so many losing employment, others losing family members, but on the other hand, it was a good year.  Moving into our new auditorium, major renovation of our school, and most importantly to me personally, a great year of increase for my faith in the Lord.  Again, I’ll share more about his in the days ahead.

Let me close this already too long and unorthodox blog post.  My wife and I want to wish you all a Happy New Year.  May the Lord bless each family and individual.  Let me challenge you to be led by the Holy Spirit more than ever before.  We love you.

\

Posted on January 2, 2010, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

