Sunday Summary 12.27.09

I realize that I’m a couple days late with this summary, however, I was waiting for permission to post an email that I received after the services.  We had a great Sunday to end the year of 2009 with…Confession.  The text obviously was I John 1:9…”If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  My main thoughts focused on the Precursor to Confession (IF we confess our sins), the Promise of Confession (He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins) and the Product of Confession.(..to cleanse us from ALL unrighteousness)  The end result I was praying for was that we would Confess those things in our lives that were committed in 2009 and move into 2010 with a clean slate, as promised in the verse.

I felt very comfortable with the message and had good liberty.  Although the altars were full, I felt like God was dealing with way more people than the eye could see.  It’s amazing what the Word of God will do to and for us when preached and applied.  It truly is a sword which cuts for our good.  Many people were still out of town, but we had several visitors and that was a blessing.  We also had one baptized.

Sunday night’s music service was absolutely incredible! The song they sang was so moving and encouraging (at least for me, personally) that I had the choir sing it THREE times!  It moved us right into a genuine testimony time, not something drummed up intentionally.  If you weren’t there, you truly missed one of the best services of the year.  Bro. Will Atkinson ended the night (every last Sunday PM of month, I have one of our staff preach) with a good message concerning why we don’t look back and why we should look back at past in regards to changes in the future. I think Bro. Will was as comfortable as I’ve seen him preaching.

The following was excerpts from an email I received Sunday night. (It’s been edited for privacy)  I think it sums up the message Sunday morning better than I could.

Hi Pastor, I wanted to say something to you earlier today but you were busy.  1 John 1:9 is my life verse so it was a pleasure to here you preach on it.  I chose this verse after I miscarried our first child.   I was saved and married in 19xx and became pregnant and miscarried in 19xx.  At that time, I felt I was being punished for all the terrible sins I had committed before Christ.  Especially since I had aborted a child in 19xx.  My boss at [the company I was working for at the time] was a Christian and also involved in helping unmarried pregnant women.  He helped me see the Love the Lord had for me through that verse.  That at the moment I had asked God to forgive me and accept Him as my Savior; He had been faithful and forgiven me for all my sins.  He had cleansed me at that moment for all I had done.  Because of that verse, I realized I had not been punished but God wanted me to learn another lesson of His love and to trust Him that He knew best for me and “that child”.  Today you showed me how to extend that verse even further.  I realized that I do ask God’s forgiveness continually, when He convicts.  But there are times I do want to just push it to the side and forget it.  I do believe I moved a little closer to Him this year, but of course I have a long way to go.  The one thing I did learn this Christmas season is to lean on Him and trust Him more.  I had no idea how we were going to handle Christmas this year.  I’m one of those people who like having everything done by the first week of Dec.  This year I had to wait.  I don’t like waiting, but God was faithful and blessed me for waiting and trusting.  He took care of everything just as He said!  It’s been one of the Best years ever!

And tonight, I did remember that fateful night I bowed my head, and all the things that had happened before I asked Christ to come into my heart.  As the song was sung the last time, all those memories came rushing back

We Love you Pastor.  Thank you for being faithful to Him so you are able to shepherd us.

What a Saviour!  God truly has been good to us this year, Victory Baptist.  I will share some of the great things He’s done for us in future posts.  I truly believe that 2009 will be looked at in the years ahead as the catalyst year for what God want’s to do at Victory.

Posted on December 30, 2009, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

